Development strategy of the EuroVelo13 in Bács-Kiskun County

EuroVelo is an initiative of the European Cyclists’ Federation (ECF), which aims to promote and coordinate the establishment and operation of a complete European cycling route network. High quality routes developed according to standards based on best European practices and their communication contribute to an increasing number of people choosing cycling, this healthy and sustainable transport mode for their daily travel and for tourism purposes.

One of the 15 EuroVelo routes currently designated is EuroVelo 13 - Iron Curtain Trail (EV13). The approximately 10,400 km long route from the Barents Sea in the North to the Black Sea in the South follows as a living history lesson the trajectory of the Iron Curtain having divided Europe for half a century, but also remembers the peace after its demolition. It also leads in a diverse natural environment from Lapland to the Baltic states and Central Europe to the Bulgarian-Greek border, through 20 countries.

The development of the EuroVelo 13 route serves the vision of the Cycling strategy of Bács-Kiskun County. 12 municipalities of the area affected by the trail established the Upper-Bácska – Homokhát Nature Park in 2017-2018; for them, EV13 is a tool for attracting cycling tourists to the area, connecting the local values and presenting them to the visitors not only on the main route, but also offering alternative options and detours, ultimately  contributing to increasing visitor numbers, longer stays and increase tourist spending.

Photo: Bács-Kiskun County Government (1), Upper-Bácska - Homokhát Nature Park (3, 6), City of Bácsalmás (4,5)

In addition to defining the route and the necessary infrastructure development, the Development strategy of the EuroVelo13 route in Bács-Kiskun County also makes proposals for the multimodal accessibility of the route, the information system, related services, maintenance and marketing.

The development strategy has been discussed and approved by the County Council on its seating of the 15 February 2019.

The document can be downloaded from the following link: